History and Legal Status

MORUWASA was established for supply of reliable, affordable and clean water and provision of sewerage services in Morogoro Municipality and other designated operational areas. Morogoro Municipality is situated about 200 km. West of Dar es Salaam and it is the eighth largest town in Tanzania. MORUWASA was established by a Government declaration on 1st January, 1998. It was one of the eighteen Water and Sewerage Departments that were declared Water Supply and Sewerage Authorities by the then Minister of Water Affairs through the power vested on him by section 38 of the Waterworks Ordinance 1949 and regulation 3 (1) of the Waterworks Regulations published in the Government Gazette Notice No. 371 on the 25th July, 1997. The Authority had existed as a Water Department until 30th June, 1996. On 1st July, 1996, it was given powers to retain the revenue that it collected and use the same to discharge its responsibilities under the direction of a Board. The first Board was inaugurated on 29th August, 1996. In January 1st 1998 the Government declared a total of 18 Regional, Towns/ Municipalities Water Departments to be Autonomous Urban Water and Sewerage Authorities under categories A, B and C. MORUWASA started as a category B Authority, under which it was required to meet all its Operations and Maintenance (O&M) costs excluding salaries for permanent employees. In July, 2001 it was elevated to category A, and in this category, it is required to meet all Operational and Maintenance costs and set aside, at least 20% of its annual budget for capital investment. MORUWASA operates in accordance with the Water Supply and Sanitation Act No.12 of 2009 and its Regulations. It is also guided by other Acts and agreements such as the Public Finance Act 2001; Public Procurement Act 2004; Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Ministry of Water; Performance Agreement with EWURA; and Operational Guidelines.

Ownership and Organisational Set Up

MORUWASA is wholly owned by the Government of The United Republic of Tanzania under the Ministry responsible for water. It is steered by the Board of Directors appointed by the Minister responsible for water. In accordance with section 10 of Water Supply and Sanitation Act (2009), the Authority is governed by a Board of Directors and is regulated by EWURA. The Board consists of 10 members representing various groups of stakeholders which are Large Consumers, Domestic Consumers, Local Commercial Sector, Women Groups, Municipal Councillors, Regional Administration, Ministry of Water, Municipal Director, Managing Director and Chairperson of the Board who has to be a resident of the Municipality. The Board makes policies and oversees the overall direction of the Authority. The Board is appointed on a three -year term basis. The day-to-day management of MORUWASA is responsibility of the Managing Director (MD). The Managing Director is also the secretary to the Board. The MD is assisted by three managers, namely, the Technical Manager, the Business Manager, and the Finance and Administration Manager. The Management team is responsible for the interpretation and implementation of policies and decisions made by the Board. The Managers head the respective departments of Technical Services, Business Development and Finance and Administration. The Managers are supported by Heads of Sections.

MORUWASA is an authority responsible for ensuring that people of Morogoro Municipality get safe and clean water and that there is a smooth and hygienic removal and environmental friendly disposal of waste water.

The main objective of MORUWASA is to ensure that there is availability of clean water removal of all waste water in the Morogoro.